Reply

3G (2G) data roaming only

Visitor
Posts: 6
‎16-06-2021 09:41 AM
I'm dissapointed that 48 still doesn't allow to use 4G roaming and you can connect to 3G network only while roaming. Also in the UK the only network allowed is O2-UK and 3G connection only. While it's quite good in the Republic of Ireland, it has a very limited use abroad. Many foreign mobile operators are limiting and converting 3G coverage already and focusing only on a 4G and 5G so this is quite frustrating
Posted from Generic Android 2.0
Reply
1 Like

Re: 3G (2G) data roaming only

The Legend
Posts: 16,546
‎16-06-2021 02:18 PM

I'm not sure why you say "3G (2G)" in the thread title - 3G and 2G are different standards.

I cannot find anything to clarify what, if any, limitations there are on EU/UK data roaming on 48.

But from experience EU roaming was never tied to specific networks and could be used on any.

Not sure about the 4G vs 3G issue though.

You should contact 48 support and ask them to clarify if your experience in the UK is expected.

 

Hope this helps.


I am not a 48 employee - if you need to contact 48 support then please click here - if the Chat Now option does not appear on that page then keep trying until it does.
Reply
0 Likes

Re: 3G (2G) data roaming only

Visitor
Posts: 6
‎16-06-2021 02:33 PM

I said that you can access only 3G and 2G data roaming. 4G (5G) unavailable. The problem is that their agents doesn't have a clue about this issue and some of them still think this is a phone settings issue.

 

I visited with 48 at least 3 EU countries and none of them allowed me to use 4G network of any of the roaming partners, with some countries allowing to select only 1 network out of 4. Selecting the network manually doesn't work - phone will search for all the available networks, but if you choose any of the other in the list, phone will say 'your sim does not allow connection to this network' so it's obviously 48 issue and their lax roaming availability

Reply
0 Likes

Re: 3G (2G) data roaming only

The Legend
Posts: 16,546
‎16-06-2021 03:46 PM

I roamed in France a couple of years ago and could connect to any network.

Not sure what data standard I was getting but I have a feeling that it was 4G.

Maybe something has changed in the meantime and only some networks and data standards are available in some countries?

5G is definitely not available on 48 when roaming or even when here in Ireland.

I'm not sure why support can't clarify things better for you and the wider 48 community...


I am not a 48 employee - if you need to contact 48 support then please click here - if the Chat Now option does not appear on that page then keep trying until it does.
Reply
0 Likes

Re: 3G (2G) data roaming only

Newcomer
Posts: 2
‎26-06-2021 10:27 PM

I was in the north yesterday with another 48 user and can confirm that both of us could only connect to O2-uk 3G or 2G. Trying the o2 4G failed as did all other uk metworks including 3 which surprised me. Is it normal for 48 to restrict data roaming to 3G (or worse) and no 4G? If that's the case will have to see if GoMo is any better...

Reply
0 Likes

Re: 3G (2G) data roaming only

Visitor
Posts: 6
‎27-06-2021 10:23 AM

No 4G access in roaming at all anywhere in the EU. Foreign networks will let you roam in 2G or 3G networks only. You won't be able to connect to 4G network while roaming. Funny part is that when you ask support about that, they will insist that you have to set up your phone the way it will be able to connect to 4G but this is absolutely not true. Also when asking what networks in countries you can access (for example Slovakia), they will name you 3 (Orange, Telekom, O2) out of 4 networks in that country you can roam in, but in reality your SIM card will be able to connect to O2 only and maximum is very limited 3G, because they abandoned 3G development and are actually about to discontinue 3G completely to support 4G and 5G only. Also when I tried to manually select network, for example Orange, the phone said 'YOUR SIM DOESN'T ALLOW CONNECTION TO THIS NETWORK' so this is NOT a phone issue, but network issue. 48 customer service is delusional and they deceive their customers. Yes - the service is cheap, but that doesn't mean you shouldn't be able roaming services fully same as home up to limit what they advertise.

Reply
0 Likes

Re: 3G (2G) data roaming only

Newcomer
Posts: 2
‎27-06-2021 11:16 AM

That's very poor if true, and my experience would back that up. It's definitely not a phone issue, I had an android and iphone refuse to connect to anything other than O2-UK 3G. I worked for years for a large red mobile operator too so know very well how roaming provisioning works and this is nothing to do with the phone. I wouldn't mind if they were just honest and advertised it as 3G only while roaming. 

Posted from Apple iPad
Reply
0 Likes

Re: 3G (2G) data roaming only

Newcomer
Posts: 1
‎17-07-2021 10:08 AM
Same here. 48 months cheap and cheerful, however roaming data service is awful. I am a frequent traveller. Hubby with Vodafone so we use that abroad - 48 worse than useless abroad unfortunately. Pity as they are v cost effective option at home, esp when multiple kids in family, it all adds up
Posted from Generic Android 2.0
Reply
0 Likes

Re: 3G (2G) data roaming only

[ Edited ]
The Legend
Posts: 16,546
‎17-07-2021 01:07 PM

@eilisg wrote:
Same here. 48 months cheap and cheerful, however roaming data service is awful. I am a frequent traveller. Hubby with Vodafone so we use that abroad - 48 worse than useless abroad unfortunately. Pity as they are v cost effective option at home, esp when multiple kids in family, it all adds up

 

Are you saying that data did not work at all for you or that it did work but was too slow or unreliable to be usable or something?

 

What did you try to get it to work properly?


I am not a 48 employee - if you need to contact 48 support then please click here - if the Chat Now option does not appear on that page then keep trying until it does.
Posted from Generic Android 2.0
Reply
0 Likes

Re: 3G (2G) data roaming only

Newcomer
Posts: 1
‎22-07-2021 05:53 PM
I am having the exact same issue being in Germany at the moment. I am actually wondering if this is allowed according to EU roaming regulations. There is a reason why this is called "roam like home" but I am not seeing that.
Posted from Alcatel 5051X
Reply
0 Likes

Announcements
Welcome to the 48Community!

To take part in the discussions or to post your own question, you'll need to register so If you haven't already registered, now is a good time to do so. Register now >>

While you're here, check out our "Featured Topics" below.

Our Troubleshooting Guide and Knowledgebase contain help and support articles and popular questions to help you as a 48 customer.

Order a free SIM
Earn some extra credit or cash with MatesRates!
Unlock your phone
Ask the community