Reply

Roaming not working

Newcomer
Posts: 1
‎12-03-2022 10:12 PM
Hi everyone, for the past 3 months my roaming is not working in poland but up until the past 3 months roaming was working fine. I've checked my apn setting and everything is find and yes my roaming is on. I've tried contact support but your better off consulting with Brussels sprouts because they have no idea on how to do anything as everyone I've asked between 3 months keep saying there "technical team" is working on it -whatever that means. So if you guys have any solution to this issue please let me know.
Posted from Generic Android 2.0
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Roaming not working

[ Edited ]
The Legend
Posts: 17,078
‎13-03-2022 06:43 PM

Unfortunately many people seem to be having problems with roaming lately and many never get it working at all.

There are many recent threads on this issue.

Some have suggestions that may have worked for some people but many people never got it working.

Unfortunately 48 don't seem to have explained what the problem is or how to fix it.


I am not a 48 employee - if you need to contact 48 support then please click here - if the Chat Now option does not appear on that page then keep trying until it does.
Posted from Generic Android 2.0
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Roaming not working

Newcomer
Posts: 2
‎14-04-2022 06:40 AM
Not good enough, I'm in Poland right now and myself and my wife are without data. Tried manually configuring APN setting, as per the guide but nothing works. Had to do this last summer in Spain, but that time it was fine after configuring the 48months.liffeytelecom.com APN.

I'll be leaving 48 as soon as I get back home.
Posted from Samsung SM-G996B
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Roaming not working

The Legend
Posts: 17,078
‎14-04-2022 12:03 PM

Anything useful here?

 

https://community.48.ie/t5/Memberships/Why-can-t-I-roam-in-the-uk/m-p/57603#M4578


I am not a 48 employee - if you need to contact 48 support then please click here - if the Chat Now option does not appear on that page then keep trying until it does.
Posted from Generic Android 2.0
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Roaming in Poland

[ Edited ]
Newcomer
Posts: 2
‎14-04-2022 07:23 PM

After much troubleshooting, I finally managed to get data working in Poland, and decided to try and document the settings that worked for me in the hope that it may save someone else some stress.

 

First turn off auto network selection  and manually select Orange.

Then set the Network Mode to 3G/2G (auto connect)

 

Now create a new APN with just 2 settings,

Name: 48 Months

APN: 48months.liffeytelecom.com 

 

Leave all other settings as they are. I have found that as soon  as you set MCC to 272 and MNC to 11 as recommended in the troubleshooting guide this will result in the APN settings not  being saved, and your 'saved' entry will just not appear in the list.

 

These are the main settings, you may have to toggle Aeroplane mode on/off, and I'm not sure if it is also necessary  to go to 48 Sim Menu > When Abroad > Network Selection  > Manual > International  Roaming Profile

 

I honestly have no idea why things are so difficult when roaming woth 48, a family member is with me on GoMo and everything just worked.... the way it should be. 

It really should not be necessary to manually create APN settings every time I go to a new country.

Posted from Samsung SM-G996B
Reply
4 Likes

Re: Roaming in Poland

Visitor
Posts: 7
‎22-04-2022 09:24 AM

The standard suggestion about the MCC while abroad is obviously nonsense. 

MCC is a country code; if you set it to 272 (Ireland) while you are abroad the APN won't be saved/won't work.

 

The only setting which SHOULD (it doesn't for me at the moment) is the 

 

APN: 48months.liffeytelecom.com

 

Add that/Save. End of.

Reply
1 Like

Re: Roaming not working

Newcomer
Posts: 1
‎16-05-2022 09:58 AM
Never had any issues with roaming with any previous provider. They all just worked no settings needed changing but this with 48 is not a good service for roaming. Did everything asked and still no data.
Posted from Samsung SM-G970F
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Roaming not working

Newcomer
Posts: 1
‎20-06-2022 11:20 AM
This worked perfectly for me. If your phone doesn't give you a 2G/3G option, use WCDMA/GSM and that worked for me. You only get 3G but at least you are connected to the net and your WhatsApp can work 💪
Posted from Huawei VOG-L09
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Roaming in Poland

Newcomer
Posts: 1
‎10-07-2022 07:54 AM
Yes the solution to downgrade manually Voice & Data to 3G will fix the problem. But it doesn't work for me in my new iphone 13 pro, there is no more downgrade to 3G in the settings just, 5G/5G Auto/4G. I know this is a technical issue, but I have no Idea how to setup my new phone with worked roamin during my trips outside Ireland.
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Roaming in Poland

Newcomer
Posts: 1
‎10-07-2022 06:45 PM

If it was me I would try putting it in an old phone.  Even a cheap unlocked PAYG 2G phone from a supermarket.

Reply
0 Likes

Announcements
Welcome to the 48Community!

To take part in the discussions or to post your own question, you'll need to register so If you haven't already registered, now is a good time to do so. Register now >>

While you're here, check out our "Featured Topics" below.

Our Troubleshooting Guide and Knowledgebase contain help and support articles and popular questions to help you as a 48 customer.

Order a free SIM
Earn some extra credit or cash with MatesRates!
Unlock your phone
Ask the community